::Departments : Broad Speciality : ANAESTHESIOLOGY

Department of Anaesthesiology
1.   Started on 1965
2.   Department of Anaesthesia constituted in 1965 with three trained anaesthetist
3.   In 1970, Dr. Devarajan MD.DA., joined as qualified Anaesthetist
4.   1975, 5 posts created of which 3 tutors, one lecturer and one HOD
5.   Till 1980, general surgery, O&G surgeries were done
6.   After 1980other specialities like plastic surgery. Ortho. ENT, urology were started
7.   From 2006, paramedical courses started – one year certificate anaesthesia technician training course –       internship for 3 months
8.   From 2006, one professor, 3 associate professor, 6 assisstant professor and 6 senior residents
9.   2007 – RCH training started
10. March 2007 – PG course MD Anaesthesiology started – 3 seats
11. MD Anaesthesilogy exam started in April 2010 and being conducted every year
12. October  2011, MCI recognition for MD post graduate course obtained
13. MGR university visit done on 20/12/12 for affliation of post graduate course
Academic activities
Sl.No. Post Name of the Faculty
1 Professor DR.K.ARUL
3 Professor DR.G.K.KUMAR
4 Asso. Prof. DR.R.MALA
5 Asst.Prof. DR.S. RAMADEVI
7 Asst.Prof. DR.A.SURESH
10 Asst.Prof. DR.M.NITHILAM
11 Asst.Prof. DR.C.CHITRA
12 Asst.Prof. DR.S.GEETHA
13 Senior Resident DR.T.K.MOHANKUMAR
14 Senior Resident DR.C.TAMIL SELVI
15 Senior Resident DR.V.T.K. GOKULAKRISHNAN


Staff nurses – 14
OT Assistants – 7
Class IV workers – 10

Type of course :
Medical : MD Anaesthesiology
Paramedical course : one year certificate anaesthesia technician training course
For MD Anaesthesiology
Eligibility MBBS/ DA
Course duration : 3 yrs for MBBS/ 2 yrs for post DA
Sanctioned no of seats : 3
Affliated university : TN Dr MGR Medical University
Selection procedure : AIPGMEE/ TNPGMEE
one year certificate anaesthesia technician training course
eligibility : minimum12 th std
course duration : 1 yr with internship 3 months
sanctioned no of seats : 30
Affliated university : Board of paramedical education, King institute of preventive medicine and research, Guindy chennai 32
Selection procedure : marks with counselling
Prizes and awards :
Best teacher award from DR MGR university by dr. V. Jayaraman and Dr. Sugantharaj Anuradha
Best Doctor award to Dr. Kumudha Lingaraj and Dr. Mohan Kumar
s. no Course name Course description Course category Sanctioned no of seats Prospectus of the course in pdf format
1 MD Anaesthesiogy Anaesthesiology 3 enclosed
2 one year certificate anaesthesia technician training course Anaesthesiogy technician Anaesthesiology technician 30 enclosed

Designed & Developed by

This site can be best viewed in 1024x768 screen resolution.